Seeking Adventure!

Are we nuts??  Tomorrow morning, in the deep of winter, we are leaving the temperate weather of our SoCal home to head north to what I lovingly refer to in my mind as our ‘Little House in the Big Woods.’  Yes, as a kid, I was enthralled with Laura Ingalls Wilder, but that’s a story for another day.

For the past five days, I have been checking the weather at least 10 times a day at three points along our route: Salt Lake City, Missoula, and Sandpoint. We will definitely hit rain and snow along the way, but hopefully we will steer clear of ice. Our truck is packed, and I have a few provisions in case we get stranded… a couple of blankets, a few bottles of water, and some beef jerky. Not much, but enough to see us through, if necessary. And through it all, I am completely giddy with excitement — literally ready to burst with joy! Is it totally weird that I am sort of hoping something goes wrong? I’m crazy, right?  Of course I want the guarantee that we survive whatever befalls us, but the thrill of the unexpected, making do, or being tested in some way gets my adrenaline pumping every time!!

I’m a planner, but I crave the unknown.
I’m a rule follower, but I thrive on pushing the limits.
I might be afraid, but I leap anyway.

It is forecast to be one degree when we get to the house on Wednesday evening. One single degree above zero! That makes me laugh out loud to see us unloading the truck in that kind of cold. It’s been 30 years since I left Denver and probably 45 since Pat lived in New York. We don’t know what cold is anymore which makes it all the more fun. We have absolutely no clue what’s in store for us on our trek north and the few weeks we will spend up there, and I can’t wait!

For full disclosure, I must make it known that my sweet husband is totally catering to my need for adventure. If it were up to him, we would not be going anywhere near Idaho until May! I am so thankful I’ve got a guy who ‘gets’ what I need and is willing to go on this trek together with me. How lucky am I?!

4 thoughts on “Seeking Adventure!

  1. Dale Borgeson

    During our year in Canada we learned that you should carry a candle in your vehicle. Apparently the candle will provide enough warmth in the car to avoid death. Be careful, glad to hear you’re sp prepared.

    Like

  2. Thaddeus D.

    Another Blog post read, and enjoyed! A nice way to top off at my height of a night. Amazing. Keep it up. You may have just inspired me enough to start one myself soon enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

