Music in the House!

We added an amazing new piece to our lodge home yesterday… an upright, concert grand piano, early 1900s!!  When Pat and I bought this house 2 1/2 years ago, we knew we had a perfect place for a piano; the alcove just inside the front door.  So I’ve been hunting and finally spotted one on Facebook Marketplace, less than twenty miles from us.

Pat and I went to check it out and met the owner, Genie.  It’s always so interesting to me how much you can learn about someone in such a short amount of time.  Genie is an energetic, 68-year-old woman living alone on five rural acres.  She is fit, strong, vibrant, warm, genuine, artistic and spiritual.  Her property has a luscious garden, an artist studio, numerous cats and dogs, and the house has an interior, two-story rock climbing wall!!  And in the twenty minutes we were there, we learned about her two sons, her aunt and uncle, her art, and much more.  And that’s just the way Idaho is….. open and trusting.

After playing a few pieces on the piano, Pat and I decided we wanted to purchase it, so Genie and I messaged each other back and forth as we worked out the details.  Delivery had to be arranged and such, and she was so helpful and cooperative, and even offered to drop the price for us to help with costs.

The movers were scheduled for early Tuesday morning, and I told Genie I’d come by later that day with the payment.  Pat was really surprised and asked, “She’s going to let the piano be picked up without being paid yet?”  Yep!  And then I messaged her asking a good time to drop off the money, and Genie said she’d be gone for the day, but I could, “Just leave it inside on the table.”  Yep, again!!  House unlocked ~ just open the door ~ and leave cash on the table.  Crazy, right??  And that’s just the way Idaho is….. open and trusting.

Yesterday, like I said, our gorgeous, new (to us) piano arrived.  It plays so beautifully, and its sound is so rich!  The size and color work perfectly in our lodge decor as well.  I could not be happier.  I sent Genie a video of the piano in its new home, and she is so appreciative that it will be well taken care of.

So many people ask us what life is like in Idaho, and I just had to share this story.  It well represents the kind and loving spirit that is evident in just about everyone we meet here.

We are truly blessed.

Leave a comment